Help:Group rights

From Wiki Recipes

This is a ShoutWiki help page, hosted at ShoutWiki Hub. If you want to suggest changes, leave a message on its talk page. If you want to replace this page with a custom help page for your wiki, click the create button above.

MediaWiki uses role-based access control (RBAC), which assigns privileges (rights) to roles (groups). Users who are members of a group then have all the rights assigned to the group. Users can be members of multiple groups. The special page ListGroupRights lists an automatically-generated list of user groups and their rights.

Implicit groups

Users are members of some groups automatically. Users cannot be removed from implicit groups.

Default

Every user, including anonymous users, is a member of the default group, sometimes designated the (all) group or * group.

On a public wiki, all users can:

  • Read pages
  • Edit pages
  • Create pages
  • Create accounts

On a school wiki, all users can read pages, but they must be members of other groups to edit pages, create pages, or create accounts.

On a private wiki, all users have no rights by default. They must be members of other groups to do anything.

Users

Every registered user is a member of the Users group.

Registered users, on public wikis, can:

  • Read pages
  • Edit pages
  • Create pages
  • Create accounts
  • Upload files

On a private wiki, depending on the configuration of the wiki, registered users may have the rights listed above, may be restricted to reading only, or may have no rights by default.

Autoconfirmed

Registered users whose accounts satisfy certain minimum age or edit count criteria are members of the Autoconfirmed group. At ShoutWiki, every registered user is autoconfirmed.

Autoconfirmed users, on all wiki types, can move (rename) pages.

Emailconfirmed

Registered users whose email address has been confirmed are members of the Emailconfirmed group.

Emailconfirmed users can create new wikis.

Invited users

The Invited users group exists only on private wikis.

Invited users can:

  • Read pages
  • Edit pages
  • Create pages
  • Create accounts
  • Upload files

Bot

Bot is intended for high-volume, automated tasks. Typically users create an alternate account for running automated tasks.

Users in the Bot group can:

Rollback

Rollback is intended to be used exclusively for reverting vandalism.

Users in the Rollback group can:

  • Revert multiple changes to a page by the same user
  • Have those reversions hidden from Special:RecentChanges as if done by a bot

Administrator

Users in the Sysop group can:

  • Block users
  • Protect pages
  • Import pages
  • Delete pages
  • View previously deleted pages and files
  • Merge page histories
  • Edit default system messages to add new translations or to update out-of-date English messages
  • Patrol edits of others, if patrolling has been enabled

Bureaucrat

Users in the Bureaucrat group can:

  • Grant user membership in the Bot, Rollback, Sysop, and Bureaucrat groups
  • Revoke user membership in the Bot, Rollback, and Sysop groups
  • Refresh expensive maintenance reports

Steward

Users in the Steward group can:

  • Grant and revoke user membership in the Bot, Rollback, Sysop, and Bureaucrat groups

On private wikis, users in the Steward group can:

  • Grant and revoke user membership in the Invited users group

Staff

ShoutWiki staff can:

  • Alter the interwiki table
  • Block users across all wikis
  • Change the author of a page edit
  • Check a user's IP addresses
  • Check a user's preferences
  • Configure a wiki's settings
  • Hide certain revisions (versions) of an article from all non-staff users (oversighting)
  • Lock the wiki's database